Skip to content

Spannocchia

October 20, 2010
by

View of the villa kitchen from the fattoria.

This is one of my favorite photos from my stay at Spannocchia, I think because it represents the collective thoughts, feelings and emotions that emerged during my stay.  In need of a quiet moment alone, I found myself nestled in the upstairs window of the fattoria, where my room was located, peering across the expanse into the kitchen of the villa.  I was captivated by this candid moment of our cook preparing the dinner I would come to enjoy only a few hours later.  I spent a long time watching her, listening to her laugher, sing-song whistle, the sound of silver hitting marble, and smelling the aroma of fennel.  I’ll never forget this moment because this was the moment, in an expanse of time spent completely alone, when a feeling of complete contentment washed over me, a feeling I never before believed possible.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

